Movin’ on up, to the East Side!

Standard
Movin’ on up, to the East Side!

Wow, it’s been awhile. Since the 72-Hour Kit post, I finished student teaching, graduated college (!), got a teaching job in Oklahoma City for next year (!), subleased my apartment and moved back home with my parents. Until, that is, I move to OKC in July.

Moving. It sucks. Luckily, I’m somewhat of an expert. We moved a lot because of my dad’s job. Eight times, if you don’t count all the moving I did in college by myself. And it’s moving time in the Buss Household again, so here comes number nine.

So I thought I would document just a little bit of the craziness that was moving all my stuff home for the summer. And I will share a little bit of moving wisdom for all you noobs.

Here are some photos of the packing process in my apartment.

Now, I’m a organized girl. But moving is a whole different can of worms.  In order for the boxes to be organized/light enough to carry, my place always gets trashed. I’ve never been able to master the art of packing in a pretty way. It probably doesn’t exist. But here are some things I’ve learned along the way.

1. Consider color-coding your boxes. Moving crews are not always literate. I WISH I was kidding. For this move, because I’m moving with my parents and then AGAIN to OKC, I put hot pink duct tape on all my boxes so the movers know they’re mine and so that I won’t forget anything in the move to OKC.

2. I also numbered my boxes. Then I created a numbered list with a description of the contents of each box. Then I plan on making two copies of that list. One will be for moving day #1, where I check each box off the list as it comes off the truck at my parents’ new place. The other will be for moving day #2, where I check each box as it gets loaded onto the U-Haul to OKC. You with me, people? Good.

3. Feed and hydrate your moving crew. They work hard and if you move in the summer like we always do. It WILL be 104 degrees that day. It will. Just trust me.

4. Don’t pack all of your Harry Potter books in one box. I know, your brain is telling you to put them all together so you know you won’t misplace one, but your dad will be mad at you because the box will be too heavy. Been there.

5.When the U-Haul company says that the trailer you rented fits a queen-sized bed, don’t believe them and measure it first. My mattress fit and my box springs was one inch too wide. So this is what we ended up with.

The box spring precariously bungee’d into my dad’s truck. Like the Beverly Hillbillies. We had to take the back roads and it took us an extra hour to get home.

6. Moving day is gonna suck no matter what, so the better you plan, the more tolerable it will be. Plan to eat takeout on the floor of your living room that day. Plan on being gross ALL DAY. Plan on breaking something. Plan on the movers breaking something. If you prepare yourself for all the sucky stuff, it’s almost fun. ALMOST.

Anyone out there have any good moving tips that I forgot? I’d love to hear ’em, because I have two moves left this summer. Boo.

One response »

  1. You’re so good. I wish I’d read this before I moved to Lenexa. Then I might know where my watch it. Of course, I think that you need to a whole fleet to keep you organized when you’re trying to move right after a wedding.

Leave a Reply

