And so it begins..

Standard

I feel a bit stupid that I didn’t know what was happening. I’m normally really intuitive about my body, especially since I was diagnosed the polycystic kidney disease four year ago. But I had several kidneys stones swimming around in my body and just couldn’t figure out why I felt like absolute crap. So Friday, at 4:00 am, I decided I needed to figure out what was wrong. I called my dad (in Burlington, KS, an hour and a half away) and he came and got me. We got home by 7:00 am. I went into the doctor’s office at 1:30 that afternoon was immediately admitted to the hospital. I was CAT scanned, poked several times with needles, finally IV-ed and pumped full of fluids and pain meds. And basically the next 24 hours consisted of cycles of pain meds, nap, pee in a cup, TV, repeat.

I was told during that time a passed a couple stones the size of grains of sand. Who knew those little grains of sand could cause me that much pain and exhaustion? I can’t wait to see what it feels like to have the pencil eraser-sized one break loose that remains inside me.

And so begins my life with kidney stones. There will be many more, I’m sure. Not to be Debbie Downer. But I am glad in a way that I know what it’s like now. And once you get into the hospital, it’s not as bad as the time you spend at home suffering. They take grand care of you, and they bring you biscuits and gravy for breakfast in bed. So there’s a silver lining, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

